NAB Domains Of Practice Image

NAB Domains Of Practice

Share/Print Page:

Please download NAB's current Domains of Practice, effective since July 2017.

New Domains of Practice – 2022

Every five years the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB) conducts a Professional Practice Analysis (PPA) to ensure that the NAB licensure exams accurately represent the current scope of practice of the profession of Senior Living and Health Services. The new PPA serves as the foundation for the exams, as well as content for continuing education, academic programs, exam prep study material, and standards of practice for state licensing boards.

While most of the knowledge and tasks have not changed significantly, they have been realigned under four content domains, where there were previously five.

 New Domains, effective with March 1, 2022 Exams   

 Current Domains, effective July 5, 2017

 1 Care, Services, and Supports

 10.Customer Care, Supports, and Services  

 2 Operations

 20. Human Resource


 30. Finance

 3 Environmental and Quality

 40. Environment

 4 Leadership and Strategy

 50. Management and Leadership


Please download the new domains of practice:


How will this affect….

The new domains will be in effect with exams starting March 1, 2022. This includes the CORE, NHA, RCAL, & HCBS line of service exams. 

Study Guide
The current online study guide will still be a useful tool to prepare for the exams. An updated version of the study guide will launched in early February 2022. Continued access to the updated study guide will be available to those who purchased the current version, for the duration of their one year subscription.

Continuing Education (NCERS Program)
The new domains will be present in NCERS program submission forms in November 2021. Sponsors will have to choose new domains when renewing a program. Programs with the current domains submitted prior to November 2021 will still be valid. The online CE database will be updated with the new domains in November 2021. The NCERS handbook will be updated with the new domains before November. New or renewed Third Party Certification programs will also need to reflect the new domains in November 2021. 

Academic Accreditation
Schools who are accredited by NAB can start incorporating the new domains into their curriculum at any time. An updated Academic Accreditation Workbook will be posted to our website in September/ October 2021. Schools who are applying for or renewing accreditation in 2021 should use the current Accreditation Workbook. Schools seeking accreditation or renewal in 2022 should use the updated workbook which will be online in September 2021.

AIT Program Manual
The AIT program manual will be updated to include the new domains in January 2022.

Online Preceptor Modules Courses
The online preceptor modules will have minor updates as needed. Any updates to the courses will be posted in January 2022.

HSE applications will not change, but the exams required to obtain the HSE qualification will be part of the examinations update. As mentioned previously, the new domains will be included on exams starting in March 2022.