State licensure requirements Image

State licensure requirements

Share/Print Page:

NAB is governed by its members, the state boards and agencies that license long term care administrators. Each state has its own requirements for obtaining an NHA, RCAL or HCBS license, as well as different requirements for being an AIT or for continuing education once a license is granted. 

Review the list of NAB Member Boards and the license types they issue. 

Please contact your state licensing board for their specific AIT and preceptor requirements.

Use the drop-down menu below to view each state’s contact information and NHA requirements; if the state offers RCAL or HCBS licensure, then those requirements will be listed below as well. Please note that these entries are maintained by the respective state boards; please contact them if you have any specific questions. 

Please note: the national exam fees are the same for all states: 

  • Core Exam + NHA LOS exam  $440
  • Core Exam + RCAL or HCBS exam  $415
  • Core Exam ONLY  $310
  • One LOS Exam ONLY  $185